Harrison overpowers Bulldogs
Justin Lamb
Columbia Daily Herald
January 16 2001

Brentwood Academy's much-hyped 7-foot-1 phenom David Harrison came to town Monday night to battle Columbia Academy and proved he is as good as advertised. Harrison, who told The Daily Herald he has narrowed his collegiate choices to Vanderbilt, Colorado and North Carolina, pumped in a game-high 34 points to go along with 15 rebounds and five blocked shots in an 81-60 win over the Bulldogs.

"(Harrison) was very intimidating, and a lot of the players on our team were kind of scared of him," CA center Rodney Darden said. "When I started playing against him, I realized that he was a little bit slower than I thought he was. I had the ability to use some quick moves to get past him to the basket."

Columbia Academy, who has no player taller than 6-foot-4 Darden, could not prevent the Eagles' guards from throwing the ball into Harrison, who hit 17 of 21 shots from the field. "I thought we had a chance to beat them at first, but they had better players than I thought they had," Darden said. "We had a good strategy to front him, and I think we did a pretty good job."

Led by Harrison's 10 first-quarter points, Brentwood Academy (12-5) was able to jump to a quick 24-9 lead. The Eagles were able to maintain momentum, extending their advantage to 40-18 at half. Brentwood Academy put an exclamation point on the half with a two-handed Harrison dunk as time expired. A Neil Webb three-pointer to open the third quarter was the catalyst for a 7-2 run that cut the Bulldog's deficit to 42-25, but the Eagles had an answer.

A Scottie Reall trifecta started a 15-0 Eagles' run that featured eight points from Quinton Thompson. By the end of the surge, Brentwood Academy held a nearly insurmountable 57-25 advantage with 3:36 left in the third quarter.